Song Publishing


The sole album by guitarist/singer/songwriter Mick Cox, produced by Shel Talmy was originally released in 1973 on Capitol, in the US only.

Cox assembled a band to put across his rock and funk sound which included soon to be Kokomo stalwarts Tony O’Malley on lead vocals, Frank Collins/ Dyan Birch/ Paddie McHugh on backing vocals, plus musicians Mick (Wynder K Frog) Weaver, Andrew Steele (ex-The Herd) , Peter Arneson (the Hollies, Ian Hunter), Alan Skidmore. The sum of the parts across the album is a sound very much in the vein of contemporary Joe Cocker, Leon Russell, Delaney & Bonnie.

As a guitarist and songwriter Cox had already contributed his playing plus four songs to the 1969 album by Eire Apparent called ‘Sunrise’, produced by Jimi Hendrix. Subsequently he was a touring musician with Arrival, and after The Mick Cox Band album playing with Eric Clapton and Mick Taylor. In 1980 he picked up again with Van Morrison whom he had first met in Ireland during the early 1960s, and later helped demo the songs on ‘Astral Weeks’, to record and tour.